NorEast Fishing Forum banner

Blackfishing with a paddle?

3K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  farhanamuneer567 
#1 · (Edited)
I am new to kayaking but not fishing. I have fished the western sound from my boat for approximately 15 years but recently purchased a used kayak. I have zero experience on a kayak and Blackfishing is my favorite . Can I accomplish this type of fishing without a pedal kayak. I bought a used Ocean Prowler 15. Any and all advice would be welcomed.

Thank you

#2 ·
Happy to say that in Blackfishing there is no significant advantage to having a peddle kayak, as you just need to get to your spot and drop anchor. Check out my article on kayak togging in the Oct '16 issue of The Fisherman mag. It's available from their online archives. That should help get you started. Kayaking for tog is my favorite type of fishing. I'm sure you'll love it too

#3 ·
I can't see why not. Being on the North Shore as well, we begin our blackfishing in the fall shallow in water 10-18' within 300 yards of shore. Find the rocks and you'll find the blackfish.
Launching point will determine if you'd be better off with pedals then a paddle but no doubt it can be done. Check post from Damfisher here on NE, he bails them from a Kayak all fall.

EDIT: Damfisher, two minutes apart, like minds think alike

#5 ·
I'm sure many will disagree with me on this, but for most situations trying to catch blackfish from a yak without anchoring will put you at a great disadvantage. If there's any kind of wind or current you'll be spending half of your time trying to hold position over your structure. Sooooooo annoying! Once you locate a concentration of fish you want to stay on top of them. Even with a gps, if you catch a decent tog, by the time you fight and land it you will have drifted far off of the piece and may not be able to get precisely back on it again.

#6 ·