How essential are anchor trolleys or drift chutes? - Saltwater Fishing Discussion Board Including Inshore Fishing, Offshore Fishing, Saltwater Fly Fishing and Kayak Fishing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2017, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default How essential are anchor trolleys or drift chutes?

Hey guys,

Considering this is my first post, let me introduce myself. My name is Jon, and i currently live in brooklyn but will be doing most of my fishing from my kayak in the western sound along the Westchester side. I am new to kayak fishing with this summer being my first full season.

My main question, is whether an anchor trolley is necessary for the type of fishing I will be doing. I plan on doing some fluking, going for stripers, but the majority will be for porgy and blackfish (when is season).

I have a 2014 hobie outback, and she's my baby. I bought her used last october in near immaculate condition. The thought of drilling unnecessary holes in her is a scary thought, but if it is recommenced and will help wth my catch rate then i have no problem doing so.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
jroblespe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2017, 02:40 AM   #2 (permalink)

Hi Jon

Welcome to the wonderful world of kayak fishing.

There are many kayak anglers that are completely against using anchors. I don't know why. In my opinion they are essential, especially for bottom fishing. If you plan on doing a lot of porgy and tog fishing, as I do, then an anchor trolley will make your life a lot easier and safer. Also, for tog fishing consider going with a small vinyl-coated mushroom anchor instead of the traditional folding claw-type kayak anchor. It will be much more resistant to getting stuck in bottom structure.