Blackfishing with a paddle? - Saltwater Fishing Discussion Board Including Inshore Fishing, Offshore Fishing, Saltwater Fly Fishing and Kayak Fishing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2017, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Blackfishing with a paddle?

I am new to kayaking but not fishing. I have fished the western sound from my boat for approximately 15 years but recently purchased a used kayak. I have zero experience on a kayak and Blackfishing is my favorite . Can I accomplish this type of fishing without a pedal kayak. I bought a used Ocean Prowler 15. Any and all advice would be welcomed.

Thank you

Last edited by pufftentacle; 03-02-2017 at 12:03 PM.
pufftentacle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2017, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)

Happy to say that in Blackfishing there is no significant advantage to having a peddle kayak, as you just need to get to your spot and drop anchor. Check out my article on kayak togging in the Oct '16 issue of The Fisherman mag. It's available from their online archives. That should help get you started. Kayaking for tog is my favorite type of fishing. I'm sure you'll love it too
damfisher is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2017, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)

I can't see why not. Being on the North Shore as well, we begin our blackfishing in the fall shallow in water 10-18' within 300 yards of shore. Find the rocks and you'll find the blackfish.
Launching point will determine if you'd be better off with pedals then a paddle but no doubt it can be done. Check post from Damfisher here on NE, he bails them from a Kayak all fall.

EDIT: Damfisher, two minutes apart, like minds think alike
hauler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-02-2017, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)

Code:

Quote:
Originally Posted by damfisher View Post